Round times
1. Friday         19.00 – 23.00
2. Saturday      9.30 – 13.30
3. Saturday    14.30 – 18.30
4. Sunday         9.30 – 13.30
5. Sunday       14.30 – 18.30

Rate of Play
The time control will be 90 minutes per player for all moves plus a 30 second increment starting from move one. All moves are to be recorded.

Bye option
For rounds 1-4 a half-point bye is available, provided this is requested at the time of entry.

Tradewise Grand Prix
The Thanet Chess Congress participates in the Tradewise Grand Prix.

Kent Individual Championships and British Championship qualification
The winner of the Gullbuster Open will also receive the title of Southern Counties Chess Union Champion 2017/18 (if SCCU qualified) together with the Glenroy Cup, a cheque for £100 and qualification for the 2018 British Championship. The Kent Champion title and trophy in each section will be awarded to the highest placed Kent player. The Kent Ladies Champion title in each section will be awarded to the highest placed Kent lady.  The Oyster Shield will be awarded to the highest placed Senior Thanet League player (60 years or over on August 1 2017) in the Intermediate & Minor sections. A minimum score of 2.5 points is required for all awards.

Refreshments are available at the Congress venue.

Arbiter: Kevin Thurlow